The Accelevents Studio is the built-in live streamer of the platform. Once you select this as your stream provider, you'll have the option to choose whether you want to use Voxeet or TokBox as your Sub Stream Provider. Click here to learn more about streaming using TokBox.

Voxeet is the sub streamer that we originally have, it has some limitations that's why we have added TokBox as an alternative. The 2 options have very similar, almost identical features. Below you'll see the differences between Voxeet and TokBox and screenshots of how Voxeet would look like.

Main Differences of TokBox and Voxeet

Feature

TokBox

Voxeet

Number of speakers on camera

9

16

Number of speakers in total

50 (up to 9 on camera + up to 41 on audio only)

16

Sharing a file (instead of share a screen)

No

Yes

Sharing a video (instead of share a screen)

Yes

No

Speaker Video While Presenting

Appears below the presentation

Appears on the upper left corner of the presentation

Hidden Speakers / Moderators

If their camera is turned off, attendees will not see that speaker / moderator at all

If their camera is turned off, a place holder for that speaker / moderator will be seen by attendees

Accessing the Studio as an Admin

Selecting Accelevents Studio as your stream provider will generate a link (backstage link) that a speaker will need to access to start a live stream, broadcast a presentation and record a video. Each session has its own unique link that can be used by up to 16 speakers at the same time.

To access the studio, a session must be created first.

  • Go to Agenda & Speakers on your admin console

  • Click Add Session

  • Enter your session details

  • Select Main Stage or Breakout Session as your Session Type

  • Scroll down to Stream Provider

  • Select Accelevents Studio from the dropdown menu

  • Select Voxeet as your Sub Stream Provider

  • Copy the URL generated under Studio Link. This will be the backstage URL for this session.

Note: There is currently a 6 Hour Time Limit when being in the studio. This includes the moment someone enters the studio, NOT JUST when the broadcast is started! If they are in the studio beyond 6 hours - THE SESSION WILL END AUTOMATICALLY.

Once you access the link, it will ask you to select your microphone and camera, then join the backstage.

Inside The Studio

The studio has 3 parts:

Left Side Panel

The left side panel menu gives you control on the video and audio output, as well as other components to improve your presentation:

  1. Microphone - allows you to mute / unmute

  2. Webcam - allows you to turn off / on your camera

  3. Screen Share - allows you to share your entire screen, a window, a tab from your browser or a .pdf file to present.

  4. Attendees - shows a list of the attendees that are watching your live broadcast

  5. Phone - with multiple speakers present, this allows you to leave the backstage without ending the broadcast. *If you are the only speaker in the studio, leaving will end the broadcast.

  6. Settings - allows you to select which camera and microphone to use and test the microphone volume

Once you access the Studio, your microphone and camera should be automatically turned on and you should be able to see your webcam image. It doesn’t mean you’re already broadcasting, though! To start broadcasting for your session, it’s necessary to click on Start Broadcast to start your live streaming. You should see a brief loading bar after that and, after the loading is finished, your broadcast should finally begin.

Camera and Microphone

Before broadcasting, you need to check if your camera and microphone are working:

  • Make sure that your browser allows camera and microphone access by clicking the lock icon beside the Studio link URL

  • Make sure that your Accelevents Studio camera and microphone are enabled through the left side panel

  • Make sure to check the volume and camera output settings of your Accelevents Studio by clicking on settings (gear icon) on the left side panel

Live Video Feed

The live video feed area is where you'll see yourself on camera as well as your presentation if you're sharing your screen. On top of it is the Start Broadcast button which you'll need to click when you're ready to start your session.

  • The live broadcast will continue as long as at least 1 user remains on the studio, even if the person who started it leaves.

  • If someone clicks the Stop Broadcast button, even if that speaker is not the one who started the broadcast, the broadcast will stop.

  • If someone has already clicked the Start Broadcast button, and another speaker accesses the studio link, the button will say Stop Broadcast for the new speaker since the broadcast has already started.

  • If a speaker is not a moderator, they will not see the Start Broadcast button

  • Note: 20 to 30 seconds of latency is actually expected. So when the speaker clicks the Start Broadcast button, attendees will see the start of the broadcast in about 20 to 30 seconds. That is what is necessary to make the video stream scalable to tens of thousands of people. You can read more about the process here: https://docs.mux.com/docs/live-streaming-latency

Live Chat Feed

The live chat feed area is where you can type in your messages:

  • Session chat: messages can be viewed by all attendees and speakers in the session

  • Backstage chat: messages can be viewed only by those who has access to the backstage link including speakers and admins

Speakers Screen Sharing and Sharing a Video

Multiple Speakers

The Accelevents Studio can have up to 16 speakers at the same time. You can choose to have 2 layouts from inside the backstage:

  • All presenters are tiled equally

  • One presenter is on the center and the others are on top. If there's only 2 presenters, your video will be on top and the other presenter will be on the center.

  • To change the view click the Change Layout button below the start / stop broadcast button. This option will only appear if there are at least 2 speakers in the studio.

  • Note: On the attendee view, the speakers are always going to be tiled equally

Screen Sharing

  • If you're sharing your screen, the screen will be shown in the center and the speakers will be on top.

  • if you're sharing your screen, no one else can share their screen. You need to stop sharing by clicking the screen share button again so that someone else can start sharing

  • If you're sharing your screen, the presentation will be a bit gray'd out on your studio, but the other presenters and attendees will see it clearly.

  • Note: On the attendee view, the presentation will be on full view and the speakers will appear as circles on the upper left side

Sharer View

Other Speakers' View

Attendee View

Important Tip to Make the Video Work

To make sure that the video can be heard and seen by attendees and other speakers, the speaker sharing the video must relaunch the hardware acceleration in Google Chrome:

  • Click the 3 dot menu at the top-right corner of the browser window

  • Click Settings

  • Click Advanced

  • Click Systems

  • Disable Use hardware acceleration when available

  • Click Relaunch

End the Broadcast

  • To end the broadcast you can click the Stop Broadcast button on top or the phone icon on the left side.

  • Your session is automatically recorded when you start your broadcast and will be available for download as soon as the session time is over. If you broadcast for 30 minutes, but your session is scheduled for 1 hour, the downloadable file should be ready at the end of that hour.

  • IMPORTANT NOTE: When you're done with your presentation, we suggest to wait up to 30 seconds before you hit the stop broadcast button to take into consideration the delays in broadcasting. If you stop early, attendees may not see the last 20 to 30 seconds of your presentation.

Did this answer your question?