Can I Refund or Delete Ticket Purchases?
Jon Kazarian avatar
Written by Jon Kazarian
Updated over a week ago

Accelevents has full and partial refunding capabilities for event ticketing. When refunding, you can refund an entire order (for multiple tickets) or a single ticket. You may also refund without removing the attendee access and completely delete the order. In this article, we will discuss how each action differs.

Important Notes:

  • Credit Card Transaction Fees are non-refundable. When you do a full refund, the fee will remain in the order. For further assistance regarding the refund of these fees, we recommend contacting Stripe or Square directly.

  • Accelevents Fees are refundable (e.g., $1 + 3% for Free and Starter plans). If a partial refund is made, our fees are also partially refunded.

  • Refunds will be reflected in the cardholder's account in 5 to 10 business days.

Refunding, Cancelling and Deleting Tickets

Refund

If you refund a ticket, the ticket order will remain in your Orders tab. Even if it's fully refunded, refunding alone will not remove the attendee's access to the event.

Refund & Cancel

To completely remove the attendee access, the order must be Refunded & Cancelled. A refunded & cancelled order will remain in the Orders Tab

Delete

If you choose to delete a ticket, an automatic refund & cancellation will be done, and it will be completely deleted from your Orders tab, but should still appear in the Registration Data report as cancelled.


Refund Tickets

  • Go to Attendees > Orders in the admin console

  • Search for the order

  • Click the 3 dot menu in the top right

  • Select Refund

  • Select the Refund Quantity

  • Enter the Refund Amount

  • Click Refund

  • Select Refund in the pop-up confirmation

After refunding the buyer should receive a refund confirmation email.


Partially Refund Tickets

If you want to issue a partial refund, select the refund quantity and then enter a refund amount less than the total ticket value of the ticket. If the outstanding amount is less than the total fees, it’s considered a full refund. The attendee can still access the event if the ticket is partially refunded.

Once the ticket has been refunded, the buyer will receive a ticket refund email notification like above.

Note: When you confirm the refund, you'll have the option to Refund & Cancel - this means even if the order has remaining payment, the attendee will have no access to the event.


Refund & Cancel Tickets

Follow the same refunding process, and select Refund & Cancel at the end. A registrant with a cancelled ticket will have no access to the event, regardless if a partial or full refund was applied. The buyer will also receive a refund confirmation email.

Note: If the attendee is currently logged in to the event and a cancellation is made, the attendee will not be kicked out of the event. However if they log out, they will no longer be able to log in again.


Delete Tickets

Deleting a ticket order permanently erases the record in your list of orders and automatically issues a refund if it's a paid ticket. It also automatically cancels the attendee's access. If multiple tickets are in the order, it will delete all of them. Deletion is usually done if it's a free ticket. Sending the refund email is optional when deleting tickets.

  • Go to Attendees > Orders in the admin console

  • Search for the order

  • Click the 3 dot menu in the top right

  • Select Delete

  • If you want to delete only 1 ticket in the order, click the 3 dot menu beside their name and select Delete.

  • A pop-up will appear to confirm the ticket deletion. You can also select not to send the refund email to the ticket buyer.

  • Click Confirm to delete and refund the ticket.


Frequently Asked Questions

Can you recover deleted tickets?

  • No.

Will the partial refund appear in the buyer invoice?

  • Yes, you can download the invoice, and the amount should be reflected there.

Did this answer your question?