Push & Pop-Up Notifications
To make it easier to know which sessions are next, attendees will see notifications when they are about to start. Attendees can click the Join Session button in the notification to automatically move to that session.
Session Push Notifications
The Session Push Notification will appear 1 minute before the start of the session at the bottom left corner of the screen. It will be labeled as Upcoming Session on top, and the session's title will appear in the body. The Join Session button will redirect them to the session. Attendees will see these push notifications if they have bookmarked the sessions.
Attendees will also see a notification when a bookmarked session is rescheduled. The notification will indicate the session's new schedule.
Main Stage Pop-Up Notifications
Main Stage sessions are the only sessions with pop-up notifications that will only appear if the attendee is currently in the main stage session under these conditions:
The current session is still streaming, and the next session is about to start.
The current session has ended, and the next session starts in the next 15 minutes.
The current session has ended, and the next session starts after 15 minutes. This pop-up will also show a countdown to the next session.
Note: If the current session uses Vimeo for streaming and the next session starts after 15 minutes, the pop-up will not appear.
Attendees will have the option to join the next session from the pop-up if it's starting in the next 15 minutes. If they choose to close the pop-up, it will change to a header, allowing attendees to continue watching the current session and see the option to join the next one by clicking the Join Now button on top.
Enabling / Disabling the Session Push Notifications and the Mainstage Pop-Up Notifications
This feature is turned on as default. If you don't want these notifications to appear, you can turn them off.
Go to the Event Website tab in your admin console
Select the Virtual Event Hub > Agenda & Sessions
Scroll down to the bottom-most part of this page, and look for the toggle to Enable Session Notification. Choose whether to enable or disable it.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long will the push notification appear on the screen?
It will stay there until they click "x" on the upper right corner of the notification.
If you choose to close the pop-up, it will change to a header, which will allow you to continue watching the current session and see the option to join the next one by clicking the Join Now button on top.
Will this work even if you do not allow notifications on your browser?
Yes, it will still show even if notifications are not allowed on the browser.
If I'm watching the main stage session and the upcoming bookmarked session is also a main stage session, what kind of notification should I see next?
You will see a pop-up notification.
Can I edit these notifications?
No, these are automatically generated by the system. If you want to create your own push notifications, you can check out this article on creating Push Notifications.
Will these notifications show in the app?