All Collections
Virtual Event Hub Features
Disable or Restrict Meetings
Disable or Restrict Meetings

Disable the meeting feature or add meeting restrictions

Ariane Ramirez avatar
Written by Ariane Ramirez
Updated over a week ago

Meeting Configuration

By default, all participants can arrange meetings and define their availability. This article will guide you on modifying these settings, allowing you to deactivate the meetings feature or selectively enable it for specific ticket holders. This customization allows you to control the precise time frames during which meetings can take place.

Disable the Meeting Creation in the Virtual Event Hub

You can disable the meeting creation in the virtual event hub if you don't want your attendees to schedule meetings on their own.

  • Go to Engage > Meetings

  • Select the Configuration tab

  • Turn off the toggle to "Allow attendees to schedule meetings with each other."

Notes:

  • When the feature is turned off, the calendar icon in the virtual event hub and attendee profile will be hidden. The menu to select availability in their profile will also be hidden.

  • You can still schedule meetings for your attendees if this toggle is turned off. The calendar icon will appear for those attendees with meetings, but the button to create a meeting will be grayed out.

  • This global setting overrides the ticket type settings. When this is disabled, attendees cannot set up meetings even if the create meetings option is enabled for their ticket type.

  • When the feature is turned on, the option to configure push notifications for meetings is available. It is a notification that's sent out to attendees to remind them about their scheduled meetings

Disable the Meeting Creation for Specific Ticket Holders

If you don't want to disable it for all attendees, you can choose which ticket holders can create meetings.

  • Go to Registration > Set Up Tickets

  • Open the ticket for editing

  • Go to Advanced Settings

  • Turn off the toggle for "Can Create Meetings"

  • Click Save

Note: disabling meetings by ticket type is only available in the browser. My Meetings will still appear in the attendee's mobile app.

Restrict Meeting Times and Duration

If you want attendees to be able to schedule meetings only at a specific time frame or duration, you can specify that schedule, and only those times will appear when they try to create meetings.

  • Go to Engage > Meetings

  • Select the Configuration tab

  • Turn on the toggle to "Enable availability schedule"

  • Click + Add Schedule to specify the availability meeting window for all attendees

  • Click Save

When this toggle is turned on, you can pick what time and date all attendees can be available for meetings. This will override the attendee's settings if they have allowed more meeting times in their profile.

In the example above, we only allowed attendees to schedule meetings on the event's second day after lunch. This way, they can concentrate on the main event activities like watching sessions and visiting the expo on the first day. We also locked the meeting duration to only 30 minutes each. If this is unlocked, the duration that would show when scheduling a meeting is the duration that they indicated in the profile.

Even though this event is multi-day, only one day is showing in the selection as there are restrictions. The available times are only within the time bracket indicated in the restriction.

Did this answer your question?