The networking session allows attendees to connect with other attendees through a video call for a few minutes. The attendee is partnered with someone at random for a few minutes and then when it's over, they will be partnered again with someone new, much like in a speed dating scenario.

Note: Chrome is the preferred browser to access the event page, virtual event hub and backstage studio link.

Set Up a Networking Session as an Admin

1. Set up your event details

  • Go to Event Details
  • If you're just testing, make sure the date is covered for your testing date (today) and select your timezone
  • Event Format: Online
  • Enable Networking
  • Event type: Conference

2. Set up your tickets

  • Go to Set-up Tickets
  • Create a free ticket tier that is available now to purchase

3. Set up your networking session

  • Go to Sessions | Speakers
  • Click Add Session
  • Session type: Meet Up
  • Adjust the duration of how long a meeting should be in Networking Rules (this is set in seconds)

To test the session, make sure that the event date and time is in the present.

Sign Up as Attendee 1

1. Access the event page

  • Click the View Site button and select View Event Site
  • Since you’re an admin, when you access that page, you’ll be logged in already.
  • Click register to purchase a ticket

2. Access the virtual event hub

  • Click Enter Event from you event page. This will take you to the Virtual Event Hub
  • Go to Networking
  • Click Join and wait until Attendee 2 has registered

Sign Up as Attendee 2

When signing up as the second attendee, we suggest using a different computer since you will be using the camera and microphone.

1. Access the event page

  • Access the event site URL from a different computer
  • If you're currently logged in when you visit the site, logout so you can register using your Attendee 2 email (the other admin that you added)
  • Click register to purchase a ticket

2. Access the virtual event hub

  • Click Enter Event from you event page. This will take you to the Virtual Event Hub
  • Go to Networking
  • Click Join

Here are some tips on making sure that your networking session works:

  • Access the networking session on 2 different computers for each attendee
  • Make sure to enable your camera and microphone settings on your browser
  • While in the networking session, do not open other windows, tabs or other programs
  • When both attendees are ready, just click the I'm Ready button to start video chatting with another attendee


Frequently Asked Questions

How long can one match last?

  • It can last for a duration of time set by the event admin in the Networking Rules tab.

Can I be matched again with the same person?

  • By default, you will not be matched again with the same person you’ve already matched with previously within a 5 minute period. You can set up wherein you can match again through Networking Rules tab, just toggle on “allow matching with existing match”

Can I select who can be matched with whom?

  • No, it will randomly match attendees 1:1, but admins can set up which ticket type can be matched with which ticket type

If I forgot to get their contact info, what’s the best way to find them in the event?

  • You can find them in the people tab and you can see everyone who entered the virtual event hub and connect from there.

If the session schedule is over and there are still people in the networking session, what will happen?

  • If the session schedule is over and you are still on a match, this will continue until the match time limit has finished

Can I record the networking session?

  • Networking Sessions are not recorded by default.

Is there a way to make a match longer while I’m in it?

  • No, you can only be on a match during the allocated time. If you want to continue the conversation, you can connect with them through the People tab

Can I have the networking session in the main stage?

  • No, Networking Sessions are only available in the Networking tab.

What happens when I want to leave a match?

  • The match pairing and/or meet will end and you will go back to the page where you are asked if you're ready to be matched with the next person.

Did this answer your question?