The Workshop breakout feature allows the speaker to split the attendees into smaller groups and assign them to separate rooms, allowing that group to focus on a particular discussion. The attendees could go back to the main session once the speaker closes the breakout room or once they leave the breakout room itself. Using this feature allows you to have more engaged attendees where they can have detailed discussions!

In this article, you'll learn how to do the following:

To create a workshop breakout room, you will need to create a workshop session first and then create the room while you are in the session.

Create Breakout Rooms

  • Enter the workshop session through the virtual event hub

  • Select the Breakout room icon

  • Click + Add Room

  • Specify the number of breakout rooms you would like to create

Assign Attendees to Breakout Rooms

  • Select the attendees who will be assigned to a room

    • Automatically assign each participant to a room - randomly assign attendees to a room

    • Add individual participants to breakout room - attendees will choose which room they want to join

  • Click Create Rooms

Notes:

  • You can create up to 10 breakout rooms at a time, but you can add more later on.

  • If you automatically assign each participant to a room, the participant will still have the option to switch to another room after the rooms open.

Join a Breakout Room

Once the breakout rooms are created, they're automatically open, so attendees can go in immediately. If you selected to automatically assign each participant to a room, the attendees would be randomly distributed to the breakout rooms.

If you selected to add individual participants to breakout room, the attendees would have to do the following:

  • Click the Breakout Room icon

  • Click Join to enter their preferred room

Leave a Breakout Room

  • Select the End Call icon (red phone)

  • A pop-up confirmation will be displayed on the screen

  • Click Leave

Close a Breakout Room

Closing the breakout room will automatically delete the room and move the attendees back to the main workshop session.

  • Select End Room

  • A pop-up confirmation will be displayed on the screen

  • Click Confirm

Other Breakout Room Options

  • Rename - click the edit icon to update the breakout room name

  • Delete - click the trash icon, it will ask you to confirm before deleting

  • Switch - allows the attendees to move from one room to another

The Workshop Breakout Room feature is being actively updated, so stay tuned for new additions to this article!

Frequently Asked Questions

Are breakout rooms recorded?

  • No, only the main workshop session can be recorded.

Who can create a breakout room?

  • Speakers and Admins can create a breakout room.

What is the maximum number of breakout rooms that can be created?

  • There is no limit to the number of breakout rooms that can be created

  • A maximum of 10 breakout rooms can be created at a time

  • Additional breakout rooms can be created in increments of 10

Can you add additional rooms once the initial room has been created?

  • Yes, just click the + Add Room button

What happens when a breakout room is deleted while there are attendees inside?

  • The attendees will see a message on the screen indicating that the breakout room does not exist or was deleted. They need to click the Leave Breakout button to go back to the main session.

Can admins and speakers mute or unmute attendees?

  • Yes, click the attendee's microphone icon to mute or unmute

  • It will automatically mute the attendee.

  • To unmute the attendee, they will get a pop-up notification to allow or deny the request.

Can admins and speakers enable or disable the attendee's camera?

  • Yes, click the attendee's camera icon to mute or unmute

  • It will automatically turn off the attendee's camera

  • To turn on the attendee's camera, they will get a pop-up notification to allow or deny the request.

Can I remove an attendee in a breakout room?

  • Yes, select the three dots at the far right of the attendee's name

  • Click Remove From Meeting

  • The attendee will be redirected to the main session

Can an attendee join the breakout room again once removed?

  • Yes, the attendee can join the breakout room again

Is there an option to not allow attendees to move breakout rooms?

  • No, attendees will always have the option to move rooms even if they are originally assigned to a particular room.

Can you permanently prohibit an attendee from joining a breakout room?

What happens to an attendee if they join the workshop session after the breakout rooms open?

  • When they enter, they will be in the main workshop session. They will need to pick a breakout room to join it.

Did this answer your question?