The Connect feature allows you to establish connections with other attendees; it's much like a friend request. Staying connected is a way to remember who you interacted with during the event and a great way to expand your professional and social networks. When you connect with another attendee in one event, you will stay connected in the next event you participate in! To start connecting with other attendees, go to the People tab in the virtual event hub.
Request to Connect
Click the Connect Button to request a connection with the attendee. Once you click the button, it changes to "Sent" to indicate that the request has been sent.
Connection Request Notification
After sending the request, the other attendee will receive a notification:
If they are online - they will get a notification badge on the bell icon
If they are offline - they will receive an email notification.
Accept a Connection Request
To approve the request, click the Accept button from the notification email, bell icon, or the attendee's profile tile.
Connection Approval Notification
Once the request is accepted, the requestor should get a notification through the bell icon, the connected attendee should appear in the My Connections tab, and the attendee's tile should have a green check mark. There is no approval notification through email.
What are the limitations if attendees are not connected?
Attendees are not required to be connected to each other in order to chat and set up meetings. They must, however, be connected to each other if they would like to have access to initiate a live, real-time 1:1 video call without having to set up and invite the other to a meeting.
Send Private Messages
Request a Meeting
Video Call without an appointment
Note: Attendees can change their profile privacy settings to disable these actions, except for turning off the video call button if the attendees are already connected.